Coke, Alex & Carl Michel

Play On, 2023CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 29.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Pop+Jazz
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 3
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score: 67
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Alex Coke (fl, sax) and Carl Michel (g) are the headliners who also compose most of the music. Carolyn Trowbridge (vibes), Elaine Barber (harp), Bob Hoffner (pedal steel), and James Surter (b) complete the band and set the moods for Emergence. They start with the adventurous “After The Rain”, and end with the carnival-like “Pop!” In between there is an abundance of Fairytale music. Our favorite is “Mangled Tango” with Alex and Carl trading off on the melody.


Publicist: Jazz Promo Services