Thomas, Michael

Giant Step Arts, 2020CD
Instrument: Saxophone

Issue: 26.2

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 3
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 71
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Saxophonist and composer Michael Thomas leads a quartet with Jason Palmer (t), Hans Glawischnig (b) and Johnathan Blake (d). They play eleven sophisticated, jazz-fusion selections over two discs for Event Horizon. Each of the players has a dedicated solo Intro except Palmer who shines on “Fox and Cat”. Other highlights are “Dr. Teeth”, “Framework” and “Underground”.


Publicist: Braithwaite & Katz