Inakustik, 2009CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 16.1

Jazz Ruler Type: Latin
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Azteca brings back the sound of Latin rock that was popular in the 1970s. Azteca was there and now returns with a storied reunion. The original 17-piece band is now twelve members, the notable exception being the late Coke Escovedo, a former member of Santana who originated Azteca in 1972. But his brother Pete (timbales, vocals) is still here along with Lenny White (d), Paul Jackson (b) and Errol Knowles (vocals) to name a few. They still have their zeal playing funk, jazz, rock and R&B, all with a Latin twist. They are having a ball. We enjoyed “New Day On The Rise”, “Mamita Linda” and “Peace Everybody”. We can safely report that Azteca is back From The Ruins and probably performing live this summer. It will be enjoyable!


Publicist: Music Video Distributors