Blanton, Tyler

Ottimo Music, 2014CD
Instrument: Vibes

Issue: 20.3

Jazz Ruler Type: 
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Vibraphonist Tyler Blanton assembles a quartet with Donny McCaslin (sax), Nate Wood (d) and Matt Clohesy (b). The music is all new by Blanton and it is a sophisticated fusion groove. “Never Sleeps” is a welcoming up-tempo opener in a set of only six selections that ends with a peaceful, passionate “Breaking Through The Clouds”. The tunes are well developed and presented in an open sound stage allowing full appreciation of temper and pace. This is especially true on “Tunnels”, the nearly 14 minute gem of the set.


Publicist: Braithwaite & Katz