Shelby, Marcus

Noir Records, 2008CD
Instrument: Drums

Issue: 14.2

Jazz Ruler Type: Ballads, Blues
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Bassist Marcus Shelby leads an orchestra through seven original compositions that depict the life of Harriet Tubman. She was a remarkable hero and Shelby studied her past to depict her story through music. You can feel the pain, the tiring journey and brief celebrations. The titles are meaningful descriptions: “Life On The Chesapeake”, “Stampede of Slaves”, “Ashanti Stomp” and “Over Here Lord” are a few. In addition to the large instrumental ensemble, there are four vocalists singing, scatting, shouting, pleading and praying. The overall tone and sentiment is dark, accurately depicting Tubman’s lifelong unselfish struggle to obtaining freedom for African Americans.


Publicist: Braithwaite & Katz