Sasha’s Bloc

Sasha’s Bloc, 2015CD
Instrument: Female Vocals

Issue: 21.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Ballads, Blues
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Sasha’s Bloc is a large ensemble formed in 2012 by bassist/composer Alexander Gershman. The band is composed of first-call musicians who help usher the powerful swinging sound of the 1920s – 1930s into the new millennium. Guest artists Jane Monheit, Alvin Chea, Patrick Tuzzolino, Princess Fortier, Glynis Laflore and Octavia Pace add vocals on top of the core nonet. The instrumentals are also powerful, especially “The Duke”. The sound is crisp, open and like a Heart On Fire. It is new music on an old theme done right!


Publicist: Seth Cohen PR