Sanborn, David

Decca, 2008CD
Instrument: SAXOPHONE

Issue: 14.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Swing
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: David puts together a great combination of tunes for Here & Gone, a tribute to some of the best in the business. His band is formidable with Steve Gadd (d), Christian McBride (b), Gil Goldstein (keyboards), Ricky Peterson (B3) and Russell Malone (g) anchoring the rhythm section with excellent reedsmen as well. They open swinging on “St. Louis Blues” before Eric Clapton (vocals, g) steps up to give us a solid dose of blues on “I’m Gonna Move To The Outskirts Of Town” with Sanborn extracting true emotion out of his sax. Joss Stone takes the mike for “I Believe to My Soul” and hands it to Sam Moore for “I’ve Got News For You”, two of the best tunes of the program. The classic-Sanborn raspy sax is still there!


Publicist: Decca Lable Group