Healy, Scott

Hudson City Records, 2012CD
Instrument: Piano

Issue: 19.2

Jazz Ruler Type: BigBand
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Pianist Scott Healy spent 20 years arranging and composing the works on Hudson City Suite. It is music inspired by Ellington and incorporating Scott’s experiences. The program is rich with warm brass voicing. Tim Hagen (t), Andrew Lipman (tb) and Kim Richmond (as) are among the strong 10-piece band that helps deliver the message. There is a lot to enjoy here including “Summit Avenue Conversation”, “Franklin Steps” and “Prelude”.


Publicist: Jazz Promo Services