Yao, John

Innova, 2012CD
Instrument: Trombone

Issue: 18.4

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: The John Yao Quintet features John on trombone with Randy Ingram (keyboards), Jon Irabagon (sax), Leon Boykins (b) and drummer Will Clark. They play eight new compositions written by Yao. The songs range from the warm, relaxing ballads: “For NDJ” and “Shorter Days” to the free spirited “Funky Sunday”. They go right down the middle on the title track, our favorite of the set along with the ballads and cool undercover vibe of “Snafu”.


Publicist: INNOVA