Lawful Citizen

Evan Shay, 2018CD
Instrument: Saxophone

Issue: 25.1

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 3
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Lawful Citizen is a jazz-fusion quartet featuring composer, producer, tenor saxophonist Evan Shay with Aimée Duquet (g), Antoine Pelegrín (b) and Kyle Hutchins (d). They perform eight original compositions centered on the 4-pierce “Internal Combustion Suite” which is indeed volatile and edgy. Part IV was our favorite segment. We also enjoyed “Nothing’s Changed”, a reflective piece and a fitting closer.


Publicist: Orange Grove