Fabian, Christian

CAP, 2009CD
Instrument: Guitar

Issue: 16.1

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Bassist Christian Fabian leads a core trio with Don Friedman (p) and Willard Dyson (d). They play in multiple configurations including as many as four talented horn players. They open with “All One”, the first of six Fabian compositions. It is a spirited New Orleans style romp with the full ensemble. They sustain that spirit through the next couple of tunes. The trio shines on “Jean-Pierre” with Brad Mason (t) doing a fine job leading the melody. They swing on “Wave” and “Law of Grace” before giving us a taste of Parker’s “K.C. Blues”. “The Ocean Can Be Deep” serves as a showcase for the trio with each of them playing strong solos. We also enjoyed the funky “Kalle Aanka” played as a quartet featuring Brad Mason and “Black & White” featuring Elliot Mason (tb). “Friday Morning” is a relaxed ballad composed by and featuring Friedman rounding out the session.


Publicist: Christian Fabian