Blue Muse

Dolphimium Records, 2016CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 22.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Blue Muse is a seven-piece band that came together while attending Jacksonville (FL) University. The musicians are Jonah Pierre (p, perc), Sarah Lee (sax), Evan Peterson (d), Tony Steve (vibes, perc), Jarrett Carter (g), Ernie Ealum (b) and Cody Wheaton (b). There s a cool retro feel on “They Say” that serves as a resonating central piece in their Live debut. Most of the seven selections are originals with really creative covers of “Smile” and “Icarus” rounding out a set that touched many genres. They swing, add a bit of Latin on “Bachionda”, a warm ballad and infuse spirituality into “Blessed Assurance”. It’s no wonder this team is rocking church services all over Northern Florida!


Publicist: Kari-On Productions