Grencsó Open Collective

Budapest Music Center, 2015CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 22.1

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 3
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Saxophonist and composer István Grenscó’s Open Collective is a Hungarian sextet with Máté Pazsár (p), Róbert Benkó (b), Szilvester Miklós (d) and featured artist Rudi Mahall (cl). They perform eleven mostly original spontaneous pieces that are more than Marginal Music. The musicians build upon each other’s thoughts without rude interference yet challenging the listener to get on the same page. “Collective Ploughing” was our favorite in a rather provocative, session.


Publicist: Budapest Music Center