Clark, Mike & Michael Zilber

Sunnyside, 2021CD
Instrument: Drums

Issue: 27.4

Jazz Ruler Type: Bebop
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 76
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Drummer Mike Clark teams up with saxophonist Michael Zilber on Mike Drop, a cool set of nine selections including two originals by Zilber. “Miyako” and “You Know I Care” feature Zilber bathing us in romance underscored by the rhythm section of bassist Peter Barshay, pianist Matt Clark with Mike Clark keeping time. There are swinging arrangements of several classics notably “Falling In Love With Love”, “Monk’s Dream” and “Norwegian Wood”.


Publicist: Lydia Liebman Promotions