Zuar, Christopher

Sunnyside, 2016CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 22.3

Jazz Ruler Type: BigBand
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Pianist Christopher Zuar is the composer and conductor of a star studded orchestra for his latest release Musings. Mark Ferber (d), Dave Pietro (woodwinds), Pete McCann (g), Frank Carlberg (b), Alan Ferber (tb) and Jason Rigby (reeds) are among the many fine artists under Zuar’s direction. They get pretty funky on “Hai (The Joke’s On You)” one of our favorites along with “Anthem”. But generally Musings is a more symphonic jazz set, a warm and intriguing session.


Publicist: Braithwaite & Katz