Cuadrado, Alexis

Brooklyn Jazz Underground, 2011CD
Instrument: Guitar

Issue: 17.2

Jazz Ruler Type: Latin
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Spanish bassist Alexis Cuadrado leads a nine-piece chamber orchestra with strong talent including Avishai Cohen (t), Loren Stillman (sax), Alan Ferber (tb), Brad Shepik (g) and drummer Mark Ferber. They play modern Latin jazz in a dynamic set. We enjoyed “Draconium” and “Tocar y Parar” best in a set of eight original compositions. While it initially seemed passive, the music got more engaging as the set evolved. This is a fine session that begs repeated listening.


Publicist: Red Cat Publicity