Cook, Jesse

eOne, 2015CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 22.1

Jazz Ruler Type: Latin
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Jesse Cook plays guitar, keyboards and synths. One World is his latest release mixing sounds from many cultures over eleven original compositions. Chris Church (violin), Chendy Leon (percussion), Anwar Khurshid (sitar), Amy Lang (cello), Drew Jurecka (violin/viola) and Rebekah Wolkstein (violin/viola) join Cook on his successful endeavor. The music is popular Latin, Indian and world jazz dominated by Cook’s work on the nylon stringed guitar. “Three Days” is a peaceful ballad that contrasts with the upbeat opener “Shake” and the funky, mysterious, mid-report groove on “Tommy And Me” featuring Tommy Emmanuel on steel string guitar. We also enjoyed the funky “Steampunk Rickshaw” in a set that brings a lot of global music into the mainstream.


Publicist: Great Scott