Monasterios, Silvano

Savant, 2016CD
Instrument: Piano

Issue: 22.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Bebop
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Venezuelan pianist and composer Silvano Monasterios has made himself a prominent part of the New York jazz scene partnering with strong musicians like Troy Roberts (sax), Jonathan Dadurka (b) and Roberto Quintero (perc). This is a sweet, free flowing set with all of the instruments intermingled in seamless harmony. “Awash Wish Secrets”, “Eternal Blue Sky” and “Partly Sunny” are all popping examples of the groove. Drummer Rodolfo Zuniga keeps things moving and guest artist Anat Cohen brings her soulful clarinet into the mix particularly on “Never Let Me Go”. There is a sprinkle of Latin spices that adds a little punch without going over the edge making this a winning session.


Publicist: Jazz Depot