Holland, Dave

Decca, 2008CD
Instrument: Guitar

Issue: 14.4

Jazz Ruler Type: Bebop
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Bassist Dave Holland puts together a solid sextet with Antonio Hart (sax), Robin Eubanks (tb), Alex Sipiagin (t), Mulgrew Miller (p) and Eric Harland (d). The layered brass opens “The Sum of All Parts” before Dave steps in with a very punchy and melodic solo. Next up they are swinging on “Fast Track”. Muldrow provides the glue on throughout the set keeping things together while Dave anchors the beats. The sound is large and powerful but it is never congested. The brass is sweet. Holland wrote all of the music except the opener that was composed by Eubanks. We enjoyed the spirited interplay as well as the ballads notably “Equality” and “Processional. Dave also gives us a taste of Latin beats on “Modern Times” rounding out a very good session.


Publicist: Terri Hinte