Moretti, Dan

Whaling City Sound, 2005CD
Instrument: Saxophone

Issue: 11.4

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: This sextet consists of Paul Nagel (B3, p), Bruce Bartlett (g), Marty Ballou (b), Jorge Najaro (congas, bongos), Marty Richards (d) and leader Moretti on sax. They play some cool blues like “Monk’s Walk” but there’s also some funk and fusion. It is all written by Dan with the exception of Wayne Shorter’s “Virgo”. Moretti opens “Passing Place” with a funky riff, complemented by the B3 before they swing with Latin beats on “Kooksville”. They’ve got the club sound mastered and groove well especially on “Compared To That”.