Perez, Oscar

Myna Records, 2015CD
Instrument: Piano

Issue: 22.1

Jazz Ruler Type: Bebop
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Pianist Oscar Perez leads a quartet with bassist Thomson Kneeland, Bruce Williams on sax and drummer Alvester Garnett. They perform a rousing set of modern jazz that clicks at all tempos. Oscar composed all of the tunes except for fresh takes on “Round Midnight” and ” The Nearness of You”. We also enjoyed “Snake Charm” and “Message To Monterey” with solos by each of the musicians sparking a strong set placing Perez in the shadows of his mentors Danilo Perez and Sir Roland Hanna.


Publicist: Braithwaite & Katz