Lloyd, Charles

ECM, 2008CD
Instrument: Saxophone

Issue: 14.2

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: The quartet is Jason Moran (p), Reuben Rogers (b), Eric Harland (d) and leader Charles Lloyd (sax, fl). The compositions are all Lloyd originals except “Rabo de Nube”. Each tune is well developed with a story line allowing ample room for creative expression. Each of the musicians shines on “Migration Of Spirit” one of our favorite tracks. “Booker’s Garden” starts out as a more tranquil piece before swinging softly. “Sweet Georgia Bright” changes tempo midstream. Both are excellent tunes! The session was recorded live at Theater Basil in April 2007 to a fortunate and appreciative audience.


Publicist: ECM Records