Kireyev, Oleg & Keith Javors

Inarhyme, 2010CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 16.4

Jazz Ruler Type: Bebop
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 5
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: This is a fine bebop quartet with Boris Kozlov (b), E.J. Strickland (d) and co producers Oleg Kireyev (sax) and Keith Javors (p). It is a marriage of Russian and American jazz artists that bodes well! The program includes three originals each from Oleg and Keith. Both are polished musicians with strong writing capabilities. As the title suggests “Sierra Nicole’s Bossa” has a relaxing Brazilian twist. We really like the dual modality of “Springtime” that started with a free jazz feel before morphing into a swinging syncopated groove. We also make note of Koslov’s fierce bass solo on “Happenstance” and Kireyev’ warm melody on “What Is Love” not to mention the funky finale. If this is a sign of the harmony that can exist between two nations that were once fierce rivals, we need to introduce jazz in North Korea, Afghanistan etc.!


Publicist: Braithwaite & Katz