di Battista, Stefano

Blue Note, 2003CD
Instrument: Saxophone

Issue: 9.1w

Jazz Ruler Type: Ballads, Blues
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4+
Performance Chart

Sound: 4+
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: This is the marriage of a polished jazz rhythm section with the symphonic Orchestra of Radio France. Eric Legnini (p) and Rosario Bonaccorso (b) make strong contributions also with leader Battista. The music is eight Roman stage classics including “Romeo & Juliet” and “Anastasia”. Stefano’s sax provides the romance and the well-orchestrated string section provides the drama. The listener receives the pleasure of one of 2003’s first strong releases.