Fujii, Satoko

Bakamo Records, 2008CD
Instrument: Piano

Issue: 15.2

Jazz Ruler Type: Pop+Jazz
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 3
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Fujii conducts a 15-piece ensemble playing free rock fusion. They perform seven extended compositions written by producer/guitarist Yasuhiro Usui, Natsuki Tamura and Fujii. They sound like a large marching band at times moving from soft to loud passages with few or all of the members engaged notably on “Sankaku”. The explosive passages on “Eaves” are new territory, even for Fujii who is one of the world’s most eclectic contemporary free jazz performers. They follow that with vocal babble on “Blueprint” that almost takes us over the edge. But they corral the chaos at the midpoint before we jump! This music is not for the faint of heart.


Publicist: Braithwaite & Katz