Aucoin, Martin Alex

Wellcraft Music Group, 2007CD
Instrument: Male Vocals

Issue: 14.2

Jazz Ruler Type: Pop+Jazz
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 3
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Aucoin sings and plays piano on eleven originals in front of a swinging contemporary jazz band. Victor Bateman (b), Steve McDade (t), Al Cross (d) and Alex Dean (fl, sax) provide ample support. Martin bounces along with an almost happy-go-lucky approach on “I Feel Your Pain”. That casual approach is in his signature. His blues spirit surfaces as his extracts lots of energy from the piano on “Gotta Get Over You”. They slow down the pace on “Hideaway” featuring a cooler muted solo from McDade. We also liked “I Told You So”.


Publicist: RadX