Blueprint Project

Creative Nation, 2004CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 10.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: The Blueprint Project is a trio consisting of Jared Sims (sax), Eric Hofbauer (g) and Tyson Rogers (p). They met at the New England Conservatory in the late 1990’s, bonded as friends and formed a band. For this release, they add accomplished drummer Matt Wilson and bassist Cecil McBee who blend in as if they’d been together from the beginning. The eight compositions were written by the trio and are all daring tracks from the klezmer/tango “The Old Country” to the cool fusion of “Molecular Mischief” the songs have a good feel. Hofbauer makes his presence known with a strong performance on melodies and rhythms especially on “Dead Mouse Blues”, our favorite track.