Brown, Alex

Paquito Records, 2021CD
Instrument: Piano

Issue: 28.1

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 79
Score Chart

O’s Notes: This is a refreshing collection of contemporary jazz fusion with leader, composer, pianist Alex Brown incorporating the use of the Fender Rhodes to impart a retro feel along the way. Alex’s brother Zach Brown (b), Eric Doob (d) and Matthew Stevens (g) are the core accompaniment for The Dark Fire Sessions, a mellow, passionate set with a wealth of Latin American rhythms. Highlights are “Wistful Road” featuring Sebastian Natal (candombe percussion), “See You Again”, “New Flamenco” featuring Sergio Martinez (cajon, flamenco perc), and “Novembro”.


Publicist: Lydia Liebman Promotions