Lewis, Mark

Audio Daddio, 2017CD
Instrument: Saxophone

Issue: 23.1

Jazz Ruler Type: Bebop
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Saxophonist Mark Lewis leads a quartet with George Cables (p), Essiet Essiet (b) and Victor Lewis (d), all first call musicians. Mark softens the opener “Koan” breathing the melody through his flute. Most of the tunes are warm ballads but they cook on several mid tempo tunes as well. All of the music was written by Lewis who puts his personal stamp on each selection, eleven altogether and all are enjoyable!


Publicist: Terri Hinte