Alter-Nativ, 2021CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 27.1

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score: 77
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Like the oriental symbol, Shijin is the name of a quartet melding the strengths of each of the musicians. They are drummer Stéphane Galland, keyboardist Malcolm Braff, Stéphane Guillaume on reeds and producer Laurent David on bass, a combination of American and European artists. All of the members contribute compositions to Theory of Everything. The music is highly improvised yet mostly approachable modern jazz. “Implosion”, “Time Travel” and “Separating Circle” are highlights of eight selections.


Publicist: Jazz Promo Services