Spider Records, 2009CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 15.4

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: E.s.p. is Brian Scherer (sax, fl), John Magnante (g), producer Matthew Vacanti (b), Karl Sterling (d) and special guest Barry Blumenthal (p). They play a cool jazz-fusion that is fresh and engaging. We liked “Copper Room” with Barry, Brian and John sharing the melody. It flowed right into “Post Bop Republic” a bouncy neobop number featuring Blumenthal. Scherer’s warm sax is featured on “Meet Me In Paris”. These are all originals, five composed by Magnante and three each by Scherer and Vacanti. John takes the spotlight on “Make A Wish”, a cool mellow number in a strong set. This is an unselfish band with good vibes.


Publicist: Lisa Reedy Promotions