Lupri, Matthias

Summit, 2004CD
Instrument: Vibes

Issue: 11.1

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 3
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Lupri plays vibes and continues to evolve with this collection of originals. They are distinct yet well connected. Brass accents come from Mark Turner (sax) and Cuong Vu (t) and the rhythm section consists of Jordan Perlson (d), Thomson Kneeland (b) and Nate Radley (g). Mark’s work is strong throughout the set helping to establish the mood. The music is adventurous, world fusion that has a relaxing effect. We found ourselves engaging more with repeated listening. “Sonic” (both versions), “Deception” and “Earlier Years” featuring Radley were highlights.