Dark Chocolate

Barefoot, 2009CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 15.4

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 5
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Percussionist Clay Henry organized this team with top musicians like Weber Iago (p, synthesizers) and bassist Kim Stone (Spyro Gyra & The Rippingtons) to form Dark Chocolate. This is their sophomore release and it shines with a variety of contemporary jazz selections. “Just Hangin” has a cool funky vibe while “Le Marais” leans more towards fusion featuring Stone on bass with accents from John Nava on congas. There is a visit to New Orleans on “Muffuletta” and then into the southern hemisphere for “Braziliero”. They wrap the set with “Hello Flower”, a tune that reminded us of Hiroshima. Henry does an excellent job of mixing up the rhythms to keep listeners engaged and continuously patting their feet to the contagious beats.


Publicist: Music Video Distributors