Flat Nine, 2010CD
Instrument: Female Vocals

Issue: 16.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Ballads, Blues
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Japanese vocalist Taeko Fukao strikes a groove right away singing “Cantaloupe Island”, the first of twelve classic contemporary jazz selections, mostly on the funky side. Greg Lewis (organ), Kevin McNeal (g), Doug Richardson (d), Lou Rainone (p) and Gaku Takanashi (b, g) form a strong band behind her. The arrangements are fresh and Taeko’s tone, scatting and personality make them unique. She puts her own soulful twist on the material while not straying so far that the tunes are unrecognizable. We enjoyed Taeko’s takes on “Inner City Blues”, “On A Clear Day” with a fleeting solo from Rainone and “Sugar”. We also liked her own “Spring Nocturne” a warm ballad. This is a splendid sophomore effort.


Publicist: Jazz Promo Services