Rowe, Ellen

PKO Records, 2010CD
Instrument: Piano

Issue: 16.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Bebop
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Wishing Well is a collection of nine original compositions by pianist Ellen Rowe and a cover of “Alone Together”. She gets help from Andrew Bishop (sax), Kurt Krahnke (b), Pete Siers (d) and guest artists Ingrid Jensen (flugelhorn) and Andy Harfner (sax). They swing on “Lewisburg Bluesy-oo” and continue building momentum through “Tick Tock” and “Seven Steps To My Yard” with excellent work from Siers. Rowe pushes the boundaries on “Santa Clause” adding a daring element to the set. It is a fine collection worth repeated listening.


Publicist: Braithwaite & Katz