Frank, Rick

Decker Creek, 2009CD
Instrument: Drums

Issue: 15.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 3
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Drummer Rick Frank leads two quintets through ten neobop-fusion selections. The common members are Jim Robitaille (g) and Brad Hartfield (p). Group A includes Mark Snyder (b) and Bruce Abbott (sax) while Group B adds Oscar Stagnaro (b) and Paulo Stagnaro (perc). Snyder composed half of the tunes on Yellow Mountain. The groove is solid on “Minor Blues”, “Le Tango” and “Me Z.” and they swing on “NuBop”. They shine regardless of the tempo with strong dynamics and good flow.


Publicist: Lisa Reedy Promotions