Kinsey, Scott & Mer Sal

Blue Canoe, 2021CD
Instrument: Mixed Vocals

Issue: 27.4

Jazz Ruler Type: Pop+Jazz
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 3
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 71
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Keyboardist, arranger, composer Scott Kinsey and vocalist Mer Sal are the headliners for their debut Adjustments. There are a wealth of musicians including guitarists Pedro Martins, Oz Noy & Nir Felder, and bassists Tim Lefebvre, Jimmy Haslip and Michael Janisch. The program opens with Mer Sal’s fresh vocals over jazz-fusion on “Tiny Circles”. That initiates a cohesive interaction between Sal and Kinsey in front of the band. We also enjoyed “Bleeding Tears”, “Time Out of Mind”, “Heart of Glass” and “Don’t Let Go”. There is a gentle, pleasant country twist that defines the session.


Publicist: Blue Canoe