Jessy J

Changi Records, 2016CD
Instrument: Female Vocals

Issue: 23.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Pop+Jazz
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 66.5
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Smooth jazz saxophonist and flutist Jessy J has donned her Santa suit for“California Christmas, a festive Holiday release. She opens with a Latin-tinged combination of “Felix Navidad” and “Home For The Holidays”. That sets the stage for eight more classics littered with guest artists to keep you on the edge of your seat. Paul Brown (g) and Maurice Smith (vocals) are featured on “Silent Night” and guitarist Jeff Lorber shares the spotlight on “Joy to the World”. But Jessy reminds us who’s in charge with great work on sax and singing for a funky Lorber arrangement of “The First Noel”. This is a fresh set that deserves a slot in anyone’s Holiday rotation!


Publicist: East West Media