Conde, Alex

Zoho, 2021CD
Instrument: Male Vocals

Issue: 27.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Bebop
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score: 83
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Spanish pianist Alex Conde leads a quartet with Jeff Chambers (b), Colin Douglas (d) and John Santos (congas, bongos). Sergio Martinez adds percussion on 6 of the 9 selections. Last time Conde served up fresh arrangements of Monk. Descarga for Bud is a more transformational series of Latin arrangements on Bud Powell’s bebop! It is executed to perfection! Highlights are “The Fruit” and “Tempus Fugitive” with Mike Olmos (t). Conde’s work shines throughout the session for a strong outing!


Publicist: Lydia Liebman Promotions