Innocent When You Dream

Aaron Shragge Music, 2017CD
Instrument: Trumpet

Issue: 23.2

Jazz Ruler Type: Pop+Jazz
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 2
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Innocent When You Dream is a quintet featuring Aaron Shragge (dragon mouth trumpet), Jonathan Lindhurst (sax), Ryan Butler (g), Nico Dann (d) and Dan Fortin (b). Guest Joe Grass plays pedal steel on eight of the eleven selections. The title track was laid back and rather somber before the sultry blues groove of “Down In The Hole” with Shragge’s raspy sax and Butler’s liquid guitar. The pace picks up from time to time but the closest they come to a festive mode is with “Chicago”, our favorite of the lot.“


Publicist: Orange Grove