Kogan, Igor

Igor Kogan, 2020CD
Instrument: Guitar

Issue: 26.4

Jazz Ruler Type: Bebop
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score: 91
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Bassist and composer Igor Kogan leads a quintet for his latest release, In a Big City. The music is vibrant with fleeting work on the keys from Marco Apicella, trumpeter Joshua Aguiar and tenor saxophonist Jeremy Lappitt. They also sooth the soul with warm tones on “Illumination” and “Vocalese” featuring singer Tierney Sutton. Matthew Baker does a fine job on drums with a strong solo on “QWERTY aka False Start”. They wrap up with “Big City” a 12+ minute conclusion to an energizing session.


Publicist: Kari-On Productions