The New Triumph

The New Triumph, 2017CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 24.2

Jazz Ruler Type: R&B+Jazz
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: The New Triumph is a 7-piece contemporary jazz band led by composer, producer, and bassist Camilo Estrada. Trumpet duty is split between Robby Beasley and Scott Morning. Marc Hager (keys), Arie Patel (g), Adam Kessler (d), Ahkeenu Musa (perc) and Ariel Chi-Linh (sax) round out the band. “Count Dracula’s African Vacation” has a funky, calypso beat that bleeds into the retro funky groove of “Keep On Pushin’”. The melodies a somewhat simplistic but they work well in this equation, one that has a lot of throw back magic and embraceable R&B.


Publicist: Two for the Show Media