Miller, Marcus

American Treasures, 2006DVD
Instrument: MALE VOCAL

Issue: 14.2

Jazz Ruler Type: funk
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 5
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Bassist Marcus Miller has that special ability to make the musicians around him shine. He does this playing funk, rock-fusion, R&B and traditional jazz. He started his career writing for and playing with Miles (“Tutu” is included here). He has continued moving up from there. On this live set he performs with vocalist Lahla Hathaway, Patches Stewart (t), Dean Brown (g), Bruce Flowers (p), Roger Byam (sax) and drummer Poogie Bell. They all provide strong contributions. The show is lengthy and rich including “Power”, “So What”, “Killing Me Softly” and much more over 2 discs. You’ll enjoy the vocal mastery of Hathaway and the incredible funky talents of Miller in back, up front and bringing it all together! Disc 2 talks about Miller the man and the musician from the mouths of many. This is the best insight into Miller available.


Publicist: Tom Estey Publicity & Promotion