Amenta, Francesco

Amenta Music International (AMI), 2021CD
Instrument: Saxophone

Issue: 27.2

Jazz Ruler Type: Bebop
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 75
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Saxophonist and composer Francesco Amenta forms a quartet with pianist Cyrus Chestnut, bassist Kimon Karoutzos and drummer Gary Kerkezou. The music is generally upbeat with lots of mellow infusions. We liked Amenta’s work on “Bunch of Time”, with an opening solo by Karoutzos, and the relaxing “06-22” featuring Chestnut who also shines on ”Come Sunday”. Other highlights are “Dancing “ “Home” and “Travelers”.


Publicist: Mouthpiece Music