Hill, Marquis

Black Unlimited Music Group, 2018CD
Instrument: Trumpet

Issue: 24.4

Jazz Ruler Type: R&B+Jazz
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: New York-based Chicagoan trumpeter Marquis Hill continues to define his space with a blend of hip hop and jazz on“Modern Flows, Vol. II. Bassist Junius Paul, vibraphonist Joel Ross and drummer Jonathan Pinson keep things steady and funky while saxophonist Josh Johnson keeps Hill on his A-game up front! They dip into a bit of R&B with “Kiss and Tell,” featuring singers Braxton Cook and Rachel Robinson. We liked the messages on “Herstory” and “Prayer for the People” featuring M’Reld Green to round out a moving, contemporary set.


Publicist: D. L. Media