Wilson, Reuben

Savant, 2006CD
Instrument: Piano

Issue: 13.1

Jazz Ruler Type: Kool
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: This is a dose of soulful cooking including Grant Green, Jr. (g), Robert Chaseman (sax), Wilbur Bascomb (b), Shawn Hill (d), J.T. Lewis, Jr. (d) and Wilson on the B3. They get funky on “Wait A Minute” and we quickly realize that this team is bringing us some good old-fashioned head-bobbing music. They also sound good are slower tempos as with the relaxed groove of “Feel Free”. There is a lot of funk with a good mixture of covers and originals.


Publicist: Jazz Depot