Yates, Yoko

Steeple Chase, 2022CD
Instrument: Piano

Issue: 28.2

Jazz Ruler Type: Pop+Jazz
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score: 83
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Mystic Life is a peaceful session led by Japanese pianist, composer, vocalist Yoko Yates. She’s joined by Jamie Baum (fl), Sam Sadigursky (cl, b-cl), Aryeh Kobrinsky (b) and Jeff Hirshfield (d). We enjoyed the swinging “Cosmos” featuring Sadigursky as the tempo shifted from racy to cool, and the combination of his bass clarinet with Baum’s flute on “Kaleidoscope” and “Jungle Flowers”, with Kobrinsky setting the pace on the latter. “Breathing Forest” is a rich ballad before the upbeat “Moon Night Dance”, both featuring clarinet and flute melodies for a well-balanced session held together by Yates.


Publicist: Two for the Show Media