Chakarji, Gabriel

Chaksmusic, 2020CD
Instrument: Piano

Issue: 26.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Latin
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 77
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Venezuelan pianist and composer Gabriel Chakarji assembles a fine ensemble around his trio with Jongkuk Kim (d) and Edward Perez (b). Chakarji draws on tradition to create his own vibrant landscape. We enjoyed the vibe of ”Melodía Agradecimiento” and “Montuno Quince” featuring tenor saxophonist Morgan Guerin. Carmela Ramirez adds vocals and shadowing on several selections notably “New Danza” making New Beginning a worthy effort.


Publicist: Lydia Liebman Promotions