Marshall, Jason

Cellar Jazz, 2022CD
Instrument: Saxophone

Issue: 28.4

Jazz Ruler Type: Bebop
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 87
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Baritone saxophonist Jason Marshall greets us with warm throaty sax on the opener, “Recordame” and we’re off to a satisfying set of eight jazzy classics. Pianist Marc Cary, bassist Gerald Cannon and drummer Willie Jones III provide strong support to make New Beginnngs a vibrant 41-minute set. We particularly enjoyed “Airegin” with a rousing drum solo, “Peggy’s Blue Skylight”, “Black Orpheus” and the swinging “I’ll Never Stop Loving You.


Publicist: Lisa Reedy Promotions