Bryant, Dave

SE Records, 2020CD
Instrument: Piano

Issue: 26.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Avant Garde
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 3
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score: 74
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Pianist Dave Bryant leads a trio with bassist Charnett Moffett and Gregg Bendian on drums and percussion. This is a sophisticated take, a fresh blend of mostly original, contemporary, modern jazz. There is an abundance of improvisation on “The Night Flock” and “Lime Pickle”. We enjoyed the ethereal chimes of “Three Night Visitors I-III”. This movement is more introspective, peaceful, sedative and embraceable in contrast with the racy “In Transit”, one of the most edgy in the set along with the reflective “Confidential”.


Publicist: Lydia Liebman Promotions